Life Beyond the Club

Its odd most of my transition has been so focused on one thing.  This one thing that I thought was the most important mountain to climb, monumental almost in size it seemed.  This task was only one thing to pass and pass well enough to blend in.  I thought that would be a challenge with my height and what I though where imperfections.  I thought wrong,  someone once told me that people don’t really look at others.  What most people see of someone passing by is a blurred image of what you really look like.  I found out this to be so true.  I was out last year around June at an all you can eat places and really never had any issues.  Even so I have been taking time and really being full time was something so far off in my mind.  Its not anymore, and really I am out except at work.  I am ready to start back down my mountain.  I have some things left to do like finish my electrolysis off, work a bit more on my voice, change my name (all the papers might be another mountain ;-), oh there is a surgery, and really that’s it.  I am still dealing with the parents, wife and how all this is really going to work…  what I found though is exactly what so many other transsexuals have in the past, passing is really just the beginning.

Now its time to breath a deep breath and start living.  By living it also means less time in the clubs.  I really love the local group I am part of and appreciate every one of the transgendered girls I have meet.  With that stated I can’t always be looking for support from other transgendered girls in the club.  I am finding the opposite to be true now.  When I first started going to the transgendered group people where excited to see me.  It was like I was the  new kid on the block and really I loved the attention.  I don’t need that kind of attention but it was nice.  Now I am like the over popular person that I think sometimes they just want me to go away.  I have even had one girl tell me its easier when I am not there because I make them look bad.  I know she was 1/2 joking, but really it made me realize maybe some people there resent me.  I really wish I could talk to some of those that do resent me.  To me the real magic is some of the cross dressers that never take a hormone and look so feminine when they are done.  I have quite a few friends from the group so I know I will never completely go away, but I do need to distance myself to some degree because its not life.  Also the few friends I have one has made so many passes at my wife that I have lost all respect for her.  I still need to confront her but at the same time its not really that important I just know she will never be that close to me.

On a different note I went to see a friend of mine from my old job.  She was very supportive of me doing this and really wondered why I didn’t tell her when I was working at that job.  I really wish I would have, but I was just comming to terms with things myself at that time.  It took me almost a year to realize its ok to be transsexual and that life was not over.  I was so prepared for doom and gloom and to be honest its been quite the opposite so far.  Jobs have been difficult but really everyone is struggling at this time.    I have been lucky that the contracts I have found have been paying me more than a normal sallary would.  I just hope this one lasts more than two months like my last did.  Its very difficult emotionaly to deal with loss of income over and over.  I guess what I am saying is that my personal stuggles really took longer than my physical transition.  I even went to the place that did my hair transplant and meet them for the first time.  Everyone there knew about me being transsexual  it was just more of me saying hi to them and kind of like closure for me.  Its amazing how nice people really are when you give them a chance to see the real you.

10 thoughts on “Life Beyond the Club

  1. ~Fiona~

    I’m not sure what you mean by your title, “Life beyond the club”. I guess you are referring to the TG support group (or something else) and nightclubs. I find that many trans women tend to get “stuck” in what I would call the “Gender Ghetto” in that the only place they feel safe is with other transgenders, or in places/clubs which cater to transfolks.

    Is that what you are referring to in your title? I am also a little curious as to why (other than “jealousy” and “making them look bad”) other transfolks would wish you to not attend as often. Any speculation??? One final question relates to the importance outside the gender ghetto (i.e. these “clubs” and home), where do you live “full time”???

    1. digitaltrans2

      Fiona,
      I am trying to move beyond just being out in clubs, and so your assumption there is correct. Really this summer is going to force me to do just that.

      Another good question about why other trans folks might not like me. I think some might think I am stuck up. I have thought about it a bit and really I am outgoing to a point. I don’t really communicate too deeply with many of them or anyone really at this point. I have a close friend from college, my wife and that’s about it. I had a very good transgendered friend recently and she really hurt me worse than anyone has in a long time. Its sad because we had so much in common, but she thought something about me that was not true. Instead of talking to me she decided to shut me out of her life for a while and really I can’t deal with that at all. To be honest I have not meet anyone in the group that I have much in common with and don’t know that I will. Its rare to find someone you relate to so well you can talk about anything. I try to stay positive though and am sure with time I will find more friends in the group.

      Ah the last question… sorry I am not going to say where I live but I might be at Diva Los Vegas this year. I know that so far from the clubs, and “gender ghetto” as you phased it hu ;-).

      1. ~Fiona~

        I’m sorry, I wasn’t clear enough in my final question. Actually, it follows the same train of thought, which is “passing”. When I asked where do you live “full time”, I was really asking if you were living full time in venues other than what I consider “gender ghetto”. In other words, are you living full time in your day to day life, or just going “dressed” to places where you feel its “safe”? I apologise for seeming to ask where you were physically living; that was never my intent.

        Furthermore, a bit of information I have found helpful. I have found it is always easier to “pass” when you are by yourself, or with other GG’s. Although it may seem safer exploring your chosen gender in the company of other transgenders it generally attracts a lot of unwanted attention. In other words, one person can pass, but more than one transperson seen together is almost certain to be noticed. If you are like most of us, you will eventually go “stealth” as it is common to outgrow the nest and just “blend in”.

      2. digitaltrans2

        I have been going to all sorts of places since last April, “dressed properly” as a friend put it. I have not had a problem really at all. I think maybe at first I was nervious and probably got clocked a few times. I usually go out on Saturday nights with a few transgendered friends, but don’t like being in public as much with them… Its not that I don’t like them, I really love my friends its just that people tend to stare a lot at you then. Its like they are trying to decide are you a cd as well, and I don’t like that. One person I meet this last month thought I was my friends GG wife, that was a huge compliment. It took her a while to realize I was not. I usually just do my shopping myself or with my wife. I am not full time nor am I not… its hard to explain. I will be as soon as my electrolysis is done but at this time I am not putting any effort into things when not going out. I guess thats the best way to explain my current situation.

        Sandy

  2. Sara Law

    I don’t know you but I am very glad that things are going well for you. I transitioned in 2003 and am Finally getting to FFS. I have lost so very little, through both hard work and some good fortune, and I have gained so very much in return from my friends, family, and colleagues. I firmly believe that being real in the world is so well received by the people in your life … you get back what you project outward. If you radiate happiness and peace you get that right back from the majority of the people you interact with.

    Peace and continued good fortune …

    Sara Law, Washington DC …

    1. digitaltrans2

      Sara,
      I am so glad to hear about your success. This is what people need to hear everywhere. Its so hard to find great success stories that are out there. Keep it up.

      ~Sandy

  3. Sara Law

    Thank you for the good words Sandy. And to follow-up on the thread of the essay it is imperative that you get out and live your life fully. I rarely hang out with any “trans” crowd. My girlfriends are almost exclusively genetic girls, and I agree with Fiona above that not only do I “pass” with my girlfriends I absolutely enjoy their company more than the gender group. Not only that but I am straight and you can’t meet straight men hanging out in a “gender ghetto” (I’ve never heard that term before).

    So yes, get out and live! I heard one “stealth” trans-woman say that when you stop trying and just start living you really have arrived. That and SRS (and for me, FFS) of course!

    Cheers,

    Sara …

    1. digitaltrans2

      Sara,
      I am finding the same is true for me. I thought I would relate so well to the transgendered group and am realizing that my best friends are and always probably will be gg’s. I also agree that genetic girls are fun.
      Don’t let SRS and FFS stand in your way either… I used to think the same way and yet I am starting to rethink the FFS. Thanks again for your response.

      Sandy

      1. Sara Law

        Hey Sandy,

        No worries there … I had my SRS in 2007 in Thailand with great results and I am scheduled for FFS with Dr. O on April 29 … I will Finally be done even though I have been full-time since 2003 … it’s been a long journey … I transitioned in California then moved to Phoenix for a job … was there for 2 years and have been in Washington DC working for a great little firm just outside the Beltway … I still have a home in Phoenix and get back there once a month …

        Keep moving forward!!

        Sara …

      2. digitaltrans2

        Sara,
        I am glad to hear you moving forward, and a little envious. I know Dr. O is going to retire and does such a great job. I just hope someone gets to his level. I would love to have ffs with him but not sure about chins. I think the rest of what he does is nothing less than magic. I am really thinking about going to Dr. Z myself but never really been impressed with his results. He does ok on those that are around my age with symmetrical features so I think he would do ok on me. To me the big thing is cost Dr. O wow, you must have been saving for a while for that. I hope you the best of luck with your ffs.

        Sandy

Leave a comment